Los Angeles, New York among eight cities in new XFL

Los Angeles, New York among eight cities in new XFL

A few months ago Vince McMahon announced that the XFL will be returning, and since then McMahon has been putting the pieces in place as he prepares to relaunch the league in 2020.

"Football has a long, rich history at Raymond James Stadium".

In all, eight cities will get an XFL squad: Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa Bay, and Washington, D.C. He mentioned the hundreds of players that get cut from the National Football League and they will be invited to try out for the XFL.

According to the official press alert for the XFL press conference, New Jersey Governor Philip Murphy will be in attendance, so it was a safe bet that the New York City area would have a team. All eight teams are owned by the league. The team's name was not announced. The league will start with eight teams, 45-man active rosters and a 10-week regular-season schedule, with a postseason consisting of two semifinal playoff games and a championship game.

These teams will try to find success where the 2001 XFL failed. It opened to impressive TV ratings, but audiences quickly tuned out a league that seemed too gimmicky - TV cameras in the bathrooms, lascivious cheerleaders and jerseys that included self-chosen nicknames such as "He Hate Me".

McMahon said there will be more innovative and exciting play.

TDECU Stadium, home of college football's Houston Cougars.

This is the second go-round for the XFL, which is backed by World Wrestling Entertainment chairman Vince McMahon. Or, as you may have heard us say, less stall and more ball.

"We believe launching in February 2020 gives us the time to get the game, the fan experience and the partnerships right, and we believe we are well on our way", Luck said. A rival startup promotion called the Alliance of American Football will begin play in 2019.

Related Articles