Sony Set to Debut New PlayStation ‘State of Play’ Video Showcase

Sony Set to Debut New PlayStation ‘State of Play’ Video Showcase

The livestream will take place on Monday, March 25 at 2:00pm on Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook. The first PlayStation State of Play will air on March 25, 2019 at 2pm PT/4pm CT/5pm ET. Whatever your view on baseball, this franchise is a big seller for Sony, and the new game is due out hours after the State of Play stream is set to air. So what will Monday's consist of?

Much like Nintendo Direct, fans can expect to receive updates and sundry other announcements from the world of PlayStation during the presentation.

PlayStation 4 and PlayStation VR announcements and trailers.

A few months back, PlayStation fans got the somewhat disappointing news that Sony had no plans for a prescence at E3.

As the industry evolves, Sony Interactive Entertainment continues to look for inventive opportunities to engage the community. E3 and other large events have become less relevant and viable, and many companies have made a decision to approach things in a more controlled and probably less expensive way in the form of streaming.

We already reported that Sony would be skipping E3 this year. In all likelihood this is their escape from E3: with Sony forgoing a traditional presser in 2019 at the increasingly shrinking trade show, they'll probably be running one of these highly calculated scripted things instead. In fact, the company stated this live stream model "will return throughout the year with more updates and announcements".

Related Articles