Masters 2019: Zach Johnson hilariously hits ball on a warmup swing

Masters 2019: Zach Johnson hilariously hits ball on a warmup swing

"I was caught off guard", Johnson said.

Because the PGA allows for intention to be factored in - and it's quite clear Johnson didn't mean to shank his drive 5 yards - he then teed up the ball and smoked his shot down the fairway. "That's a first. I thought I'd done it all, but now I know I've done it all".

Johnson had another questionable hit earlier in the day, when his ball zoomed toward several terrified spectators.

"Y'all can laugh", Johnson said as he prepared to hit again.

The exact scenario is actually covered under Rule 18-2 in the USGA rulebook, "Ball at Rest Moved".

He had never hit one that short, either, but at least it didn't count.

Zach Johnson of the United States plays his shot from the eighth tee during the second round of the Masters at Augusta National Golf Club on April 12, 2019 in Augusta, Georgia.

Zach Johnson was flushed, and a little embarrassed, on Friday after he started off the second round of the Masters with an awkward stumble. Matt Kuchar, Ian Poulter and the caddies replied in unison that the shot wasn't intentional and there was no penalty. "His jaw dropped and we had a good chuckle knowing that wasn't a penalty, but a not-so-top-10 moment".

Johnson said he knew the rule.

"Only if I've been drinking", Kisner said.

Related Articles