New Zealand vs Australia

New Zealand vs Australia

New Zealand were on a winning streak until Wednesday, when they faced their first defeat of the tournament at the hands of Pakistan.

New Zealand, who are one-win away from sealing the semi-final berth, will look to outclass already-qualified Australia in World Cup 2019 league stage match at the Lord's on Saturday. While, New Zealand may go for wicket-keeper batsman Henry Nicholls in place of under-performing Tom Latham.

Fast bowler Trent Boult finished the innings with a last-over hat trick on a used pitch offering movement and turn.

At the time of writing this report, Australia were 65 for 3 in the 15th over. But the lowest defended was 285 last Tuesday against England, also at Lord's. Mitchell Starc (5/26) was also on a hat-trick but was denied by No. 11 Trent Boult himself.

Mitchell Starc took five wickets in the Kiwi innings after Usman Khawaja and Alex Carey rescued the Australian innings.

While Australia lock horns with New Zealand at the Lord's, Arjun Tendulkar is helping the Australian team in the nets with an aspiration to shine with the ball.

Toss: Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to bat first.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

He dropped Aaron Finch, who went onto score 88 runs, in the second over, then not long afterwards put down an admittedly tough opportunity when Usman Khwaja hit the ball towards him.

The dramatic finish came after Australia had fought back impressively, the reigning champions rocked by one-two combinations delivered by Jimmy Neesham and Lockie Ferguson as they slipped to 92-5 in a repeat of the 2015 final.

Along with India, these two teams have been the strongest in the tournament and today's match promises to be a solid cricketing spectacle.

Warner and Smith were booed on and off the field following their recent returns after each served 12-month bans for their roles in a ball-tampering scandal during a Test in South Africa.

Related Articles