All New PlayStation 4 Games Must Support The PS5

All New PlayStation 4 Games Must Support The PS5

Japanese manufacturing giant, Sony, has since announced that it will have a PlayStation 5 event on June 5th.

That's all we have for now, but there's a chance more Xbox Series X games from the event might be made apparent over the next few days. In recent months, third-party publishers and developers committed actual titles to the PlayStation 5.

The affiliate Sony Music Group has launched a $100 million fundraiser to support the cause. As rumored, it will be focusing on the games that are coming to the PS5 when it launches later this year. It sounds very much like the sort of audio effect that would play when you turn on a new console, but again, Sony hasn't said for sure whether this is the PS5 startup sound. Sony does reference, "Studios, both larger and smaller, those newer and those more established, all have been hard at work developing games that will showcase the potential of the hardware". This includes major titles like Assassin's Creed Valhalla, Watch Dogs: Legion, Godfall, and - of course - Fortnite, but Codemasters has also confirmed that rally driving title DIRT 5 will see a PS5 release too. "While this path to launch has been a bit ... different, we are more excited than ever to take you on this journey to redefine the future of video games". These games will be available immediately after the PS5 launch in the Christmas season. The event will cover a host of games, from Triple-A effort to indie games.

As yet we haven't seen anything from Sony's in-house developers, newly renamed as PlayStation Studios.

Sony's event will be live on Twitch or YouTube on June 4 at 1pm PDT / 9pm BST / 10pm CEST. As does the name of the event itself: "Future of Gaming".

Related Articles