Chase Elliott wins All-Star Race in front of 20,000 NASCAR fans

Chase Elliott wins All-Star Race in front of 20,000 NASCAR fans

It was exactly the kind of atmosphere NASCAR sought when it shifted its All-Star Race from its traditional spot at Charlotte Motor Speedway to Bristol.

NASCAR and Speedway Motorsports were allowed to sell 30,000 tickets to the All-Star race, which was moved from Charlotte Motor Speedway for just the second time in the event's history.

The victory was his first in five starts in the annual non-points-paying race, but it was the second for the Elliott family. The one flying over Bristol Motor Speedway listed only the group's website address.

The racers are made up of winners from races in 2019 and 2020, as well as former Cup Series Champions and All-Star Race winners.

"Yeah, I'm super excited and in my head of optimism", said Johnson, who is scheduled to retire from full-time NASCAR racing after this season. "There's nothing like Bristol. I've never won here (before); what a race to do it". "What a race to do it".

Despite Busch's best efforts, he was unable to catch a relatively untroubled Elliott who took his maiden All-Star win, the ninth overall for Hendrick and the squad's first since Jimmie Johnson's fourth triumph in 2013. We just tried to hit the reset button this week, and we came out and put on a great performance with a great vehicle.

Kevin Harvick of Stewart-Haas Racing came in third place Wednesday night.

"We've got a few top-five finishes, but just haven't been able to close it out at the end of the race", said Denny Hamlin, who finished fifth here last July.

Wallace had race-ending contact with the wall when his No. 43 Chevrolet appeared to be turned from behind by Michael McDowell 17 laps into the first stage. "With the way this team has been performing this year, I don't see any reason why we can't change that this weekend and get our first win at Kentucky". I got a good restart. I'm hopeful this year that you think some of the things we've we learned from Pocono and apply them.

As if that isn't enough for hopefuls to overcome, the Joe Gibbs Racing driver will start first in the No. 18 Toyota, aiming to maintain his expertise in different circumstances.

Martin Truex Jr. closed the top 10, while four-time All-Star Race victor Jimmie Johnson was never a factor in what was likely his final appearance in the non-points exhibition spectacular. The victor of the All-Star Fan Vote will start in the 20th spot.

All have championships, with the 400-mile race providing a springboard to the title for Kyle Busch (2015), Brad Keselowski (2012) and Martin Truex Jr.

Related Articles