Off-Facebook Activity & Clear History Tool

Off-Facebook Activity & Clear History Tool

Facebook said it had 2.89 billion users of its products around the world, but the growth on the main social network - the primary source of advertising sales - has started to slow.

You can access Facebook's "Clear History" tool via Settings Your Facebook information Off-Facebook Activity.

Many companies track what people do online and share that information with Facebook, to target adverts at them.

It is a well-known fact that users' data gets sold to support free, ad-supported web, the Off-Facebook activity tool will help them in restricting the use of their data.

Interactions, as defined by Facebook, range from everything from opening the app to searching an item to making a purchase or adding an item to a wishlist. You'll be able to see information about the apps and websites you've interacted with, and you'll be able to clear this information from your account.

"This is a company that has shown that it can withstand ongoing criticism of its practices and yet still pull out gains in both revenue and users", eMarketer analyst Debra Aho Williamson said. To disconnect that activity from your account, and to disconnect from all activity in the future even if it isn't displayed on the Off-Facebook Activity screen, you need two other things: the clear history button and the Manage Future Activity link.

Image Source Facebook
Image Source Facebook

I don't often give Facebook credit for considering the privacy interests of its users, but this is a welcome step in the right direction.

To stop a specific app from tracking you in the future, tap or click it in the list then scroll down and select "Turn off future activity". Note that Facebook doesn't actually delete that data.

Facebook chief Mark Zuckerberg said that he expects the firm will continue to find itself in the spotlight, as it defends its support of targeted advertising and encryption.

"What Facebook gets out of all that is data that can be super valuable for targeting ads", Oppenheim says.

A nasty shock: It's worth going and seeing for yourself just how much data about you is being shared with Facebook. "The information you disconnect will no longer be connected to your account". Facebook tracks people that have Facebook accounts AND people who do not have Facebook accounts. Facebook replaced the tag suggestion tool with a broader facial recognition setting a year ago.

Facebook has warned for several quarters that growing at the same rate will be more hard in the future.

Related Articles