Travelers from United States Officially Barred from Entering European Union

Travelers from United States Officially Barred from Entering European Union

The EU issued the finalised list of "acceptable countries", based on how well the nations are faring in handling the covid-19 pandemic, after a delay of several days due to some EU member states seeking more time to decide.

Algeria, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand and Tunisia rounded out the countries, which was agreed to by vote among the EU's 27 member states. China is also on the European Union list, but only on the condition of reciprocal action by the Chinese authorities, " one of the Member States announces in a press release.

Locked away in a meeting room in Brussels, officials are debating who will be allowed to enter the European Union on July 1 when the bloc's worldwide borders are scheduled to be opened - and who will be forbidden.

European Union governments extended a travel ban for USA residents, deeming the American response to the coronavirus pandemic insufficient to allow its citizens to enter the bloc for non-essential reasons.

Travelers from 14 countries will be welcomed into the EU from this week

Up until this point, travelers from outside of the European Union have, for the most part, not been allowed to enter the bloc since mid-March, and it will be up to the individual countries within the EU to determine how they will adhere to these new restrictions. However, today, June 29, a meeting was held in Brussels, at which they made a decision to revise the list and reduced it to 15 countries.

A European briefing last week noted that the US had seen 107 cases per 100,000 people in the previous 14 days, whereas the average across the E.U. was 16 cases per 100,000 people. The list published today is not legally binding, though most states are expected to follow it. Greece had reportedly objected to the idea of disallowing Americans to visit, but later acquiesced.

However, the health-based criteria collided with national interests and geopolitics, with some countries reluctant to collectively ban the USA while welcoming visitors from China, where the pandemic began.

-An overall response to COVID-19 including testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information.

Related Articles